9 Ways to Get a Good Night’s Sleep

Steve Glaveski
4 min readMar 23, 2020

According to Matt Walker, professor of neuroscience and psychology at the University of California and author of Why We Sleep: The New Science of Sleep and Dreams, there are numerous reasons why people need to be getting eight hours of sleep a night. Several stand out as being of the utmost importance to entrepreneurs and leaders of teams.

Sleeping enriches a diversity of functions related to learning, memory, creativity, decision making and emotional regulation. So basically, all the important stuff your brain does.

Sadly, two-thirds of adults throughout developed nations fail to obtain the recommended eight hours of nightly sleep (the odds say you’re one of them). Utterances like ‘I can perform well on six hours a night’, and ‘eight hours is a pipe-dream’ are common.

And I get it. I said the same thing for almost 10 years, willing myself out of bed at 5 am for an early-morning workout, after having slept somewhere between six and seven hours. I’d judge people who slept until 7 am and write them off as lazy and undisciplined. During my twenties and early thirties, I’d think nothing of waking up at 9 am on a Saturday morning after having gone to bed, drunk, at 5 am.

I’d venture out for a 10-kilometre run, thinking it was the best way to recover, and boast about it later. I couldn’t fathom how my fellow…

--

--

Steve Glaveski

CEO of Collective Campus. HBR writer. Author of Time Rich, and Employee to Entrepreneur. Host of Future Squared podcast. Occasional surfer.